UCF construction

D1DDY

• Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  701
  • Days Won:  0

This is probably an easy question for some you fellas... but how did UCF get the loot for a new stadium and arena at the sametime?  Donors?

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

• Content Count:  71

Good question!!

I'm a 86 USF grad and now live in the Atlanta area and usually catch at least one football game a year with some old college buddies (Auburn & UL this upcoming season planned).  I was in Orlando last week on business and decided to get a jog in at the UCF track since it was close by (with my USF teeshirt on of course) and was shocked to see how they have progressed with their facilities.  New football, basketball, softball, baseball stadiums along with a indoor football practice facility were all very visible surrounded by a bunch of new dorms with a nice downtown college feel. 

How did UCF get all this money to build these facilities and USF just seems to have a bunch of nice artist renditions?  With all the construction around UCF's athletic area you would think they just joined the Big East not USF and it was disturbing to see how they have beat USF to the punch regarding upgrading their facilities.  Like many USF alumni I do not like to lose to UCF and we are definitely losing the athletic facilities battle.  I believe UCF used some creative financing (bonds etc...) and USF is unwilling to go down this path from my understanding for fear of running into an athletic department deficit.  I think we need to change our strategy.

• Content Count:  2,239

Well, these were two seperate projects.